Patapage

Understanding Patapage – the works

with 2 comments

We are currently working in several directions to make Patapage easier to understand, use and map to your web site building needs.

1. Work on the user interface: it is getting simpler and more complete

2. Writing a introduction + user guide document. On Pietro’s blog a new post about understanding the ways Patapage can be used, taking the case of community support:

http://pietro.open-lab.com/2010/03/17/easiest-way-to-build-and-support-a-web-sites-community-patapage/

Patapage is indeed a tool that can drastically reduce the effort needed to build services for supporting a web site’s community – it does more than that, but it is for sure a core point.

Written by Pietro Polsinelli

March 17, 2010 at 11:03 am

Posted in news, releases

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found your site very interesting; I found it after looking at the site about mb.extruder. One thing I wonder about is if my users will know which tabs to click to get more info.

    My club site is in bad need of a redesign and I love the idea of being able to hide large sections, but still have the info on the home page. This is a radio club which has young and old members, the older ones need larger fonts and might not understand your layout of tabs which is a worry. I also need to put Sponsors on our home page, but tucking them inside a tabbed area could be a good solution. I was at first working with Project Seven’s Glide Panel, but I worry if JS is not enabled the data won’t be seen. This might be the same problem with your site. True?

    I feel stupid, but I don’t understand RSS. How do I get people to view info via RSS? I don’t expect you to teach me, but a general guide or recommended place to look would be awesome.

    Keep up with the good work and I hope to incorporate your tabs/windows in my redesign. Ah, I just looked over at the right on your site and saw, “The many ways of RSS integration.” I will look there to start on my journey of understanding just what I have to do to get that going on my sites.

    Thanks and best of luck, Nancy

    Nancy

    April 18, 2010 at 2:38 am

  2. Thank you for your feedback. The tabs provided are just an example, you can fully customize them. I am writing a user guide which will answer all your questions in detail.

    For the JavaScript enabled question, you can see here some statistics: http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp

    Current browsers are more and more JavaScript engines at their core, so not having JavaScript enabled makes surfing really problematic.

    Thanks!

    Pietro Polsinelli

    April 21, 2010 at 3:55 pm


Leave a Reply

